Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | June 20, 2005

Running on Empty

The mission was simple enough, I had the time, I had the money, I had my laziness and a growling stomach. I just had to make a choice, go home or face Friday afternoon traffic to get the best sister-in-law a belated birthday present. If I chose the latter I would be sure to put my bank account through a workout at the retail bedlum, a.k.a. The Galleria. Delivery of the perfect gift was to be the next morning at my nieces swim meet.
My plan seemed easy enough; enter in opposites – vigilence stage left. I was doomed to spend a night of unrest. Had I known what would happen, I never would have gone shopping, I cant believe I just wrote that.

3 shirts, a pair of jeans, a skirt, a necklace, and 2 pairs of earings later I found the perfect Leprecaun green tote bag for her.

Mission accomplished.

I dodged the crowd fighting my hunger, exhaustion, and big bags which were doubling as arm weights. My mind wandered maybe even strayed as I dreamed of sitting my tush down on the couch with a glass of wine and popping in a DVD. The thrill and craziness of it all.

He was cute in the I wanna be a thug manner but I am a cornfed boy from Idaho. I barely noticed when he bumped me, a simple swipe, a flick of his wrist, he scored as he looked into my eyes and said, Hey.sorry about that

He pick pocketed me. Thats right folks, I got pick pocketed by a thief who apolagized for stealing from me during the act. (?)
He should have said, Sorry about this. Rat.

Arriving back at my car I went to answer a call on my phone. As I pulled my phone out I noticed that my wallet was gone. Franticly I searched my car to see if it had fallen out in that brief moment when I grabbed the phone. It was nowhere. Not under the seats, not under the car, not on the floor board it was MIA. Step 2 was to call the bank and cancel everything. Step 3 was to hot foot it back inside. I threw everything in the back seat and drove closer to the entrance. Hopping out of my car like Macguever on a mission, I threw open the glass doors and ran to security in my stilettos. Classy I know.
Name and contact number Mam. Write down the cards that were in your wallet. That was all they wanted, not a can you pick him out from a line up type of question. Just Name and number Mam, well let you know if we find the guy. Youre the second person tonight, were on the look out

Annoyed and upset at the evenings previous events on my way home I phoned my brother and sadly informed him I would not make the swim meet. I would be spending my Saturday morning at the bank. Woohoo!

2 hours later 11:00 p.m. I was still annoyed and frustrated standing outside on my patio when a neighbor trolled by.
I unloaded, I couldnt help it, sometimes you just need to vent. He shut me off and said, Get dressed. Your coming with us.

Game on. I was the wing girl for the evening. I love my guys.

Responses

  1. Sounds like you found the wrong kind of wrong(?)

  2. I would call it the wrongest kind of wrong 😉

  3. How have your last few weeks been, Jessica?

  4. lol too weird I know where the galleria is and I had a friend that used to work at a jewelery store there. Can’t remember the name though… Jimmy was he name but the stor eI can’t remember O.o

    I have had my wallet stolen twice, once from my own bag and the other from my car while I was at the gym >_lol too weird I know where the galleria is and I had a friend that used to work at a jewelery store there. Can’t remember the name though… Jimmy was he name but the stor eI can’t remember O.o

    I have had my wallet stolen twice, once from my own bag and the other from my car while I was at the gym >_

  5. Justin & Irf: I seem to have mastered finding the wrong kind of wrong and somehow still see the humor in it all.
    He apolagized for stealing from me…..?

    Thomas, Still the same – Congrats on your engagement
    Don’t forget to invite me.

    Shawn ( Twin) At least you found out “who’s your daddy”

  6. Wow, I feel so bad you got pick-pocketed while out buying me a present. Damn that Leprechaun tote, Where was the luck???. Can’t wait to see it and you for that matter.
    Thanks. I so enjoy reading your blogs. It adds a little zest to my otherwise ground hog’s day type life.


Categories

