Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | July 15, 2005

I choose to Risk

This is Ronda guest blogging for Jess…

To be or not to be?

To love or not to love?

To risk or not to risk?

Hmmm… isn’t that it? Isn’t that life’s big question… to risk OR not to risk? To take a chance or play it safe? To find that truly extraordinary experience or find stability?

And this goes for all matters of the human life; from work, to play, to family, to relationships…

We all have huge dreams… somewhere, deep inside, even if life has worn you down to a synical being nailed to hopeless reality, you still have dreams and hopes… you just might have to dig a bit deeper to find them than others…

So then, the questions come in, yet, we don’t really ask ourselves… Instead, we often go with the easiest path of least resistance, and settle for stability, contentment, and security, often based on what society and OTHERS want for us or think we should do, w/o really, really living what we truly want to live for ourselves… And that’s ok, IF it is a conscious choice… but how sad it is that this all too often, and I’d argue, more often than not, the case…

If you look around you in the world today, how many happy, and I mean, jump out of their skin, “I love my life!”, happy, people do you see??? Not enough… Not nearly enough…

I want to feel the breeze in my long auburn hair as it tugs at my curls… I want to laugh fully and completely at all of my life’s flaws and faults in a sense that says they’re truly ok, to the point that tears stream down my freckled face, falling from my blue eyes… I want to cry with the pain, and feel it, every last drop; and live it, so when the day comes that the opposite happens, I can jump up and down with happiness and joy as my cup is completely full, and I know what it means to be fulfilled, as I’ve felt the pain, on the other end, as well… I want to face myself in the mirror and say, “I know who you are, and though you’re far from perfect, I still love you, and I’m so happy for you.”… I want to continue to explore myself, my life, the country, the world; to continue to learn as the world keeps turning… I want to live, truly, as if I might not have another breath left in me…

And I’ll be the first to admit that wanting and doing are two totally different things… though, I will try, and will continue to strive, to live what I want in this life… Some may think I’m crazy, for most things in my life rarely happen in a ‘conventional’ way, but I know that I can say that I’ve experienced a variety of things, and not in the material sense, but in the real, ‘feel it, as this is life’, sense, that many may never experience… And for that, I’m thankful…

I’m living my life… and that’s my choice…

I choose to risk… I choose to be…

Responses

  1. “Fear and guilt, the two emotions that keep our society humming.” – The Story of Us (This quote may not be exact as I couldn’t find it written out, and stole it from my fractured memory.)

  2. Create enough pressure and “the course of least resistance” can mean any number of directions. Any Vegas water show will demonstrate this. The trick is letting go. Letting go of fear. Letting go of your lifestyle, your car, and your career. We let our perception define us instead of letting who we are define our perception. A little hokey, I know.


Categories

