Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | July 15, 2005

What’s in your closet?

This past weekend I was going through a few boxes in storage, and came across old photographs and other items I had no idea were still in my possession. Anyone who really knows me will understand this is amazing in itself, as I am not a sentimental person, and will generally purge anything once I realize it will not hurt someone’s feelings. I am not sure why I am this way, because I do have a sense of loyalty to the present, and the future for that matter. It probably has to do with me wanting to travel light in life, as I was surrounded by so much clutter growing up.

The box was a treasure trove of stories, good and bad. None were more recent than six years old, while many were over ten years in age. So apparently I was sentimental at one point in my life! Some of the contents found did bring back memories, such as a napkin with a familiar name and long since defunct phone number, a January 1991 ticket for Nine Inch Nails at Numbers, and an April 1994 ticket to the Astros versus Montreal on opening day in the Astrodome. Each of these items did have a special meaning years ago, although they have since lost much of their impact.

A couple items must have mistakenly made it into the box. A Honda car key, although I have never owned a Honda. I found a bank statement from 1994, which left me asking myself how I ever survived. The most shameful item was a Clayton Williams for governor bumper sticker. For those who remember, sorry!

As entertaining as the stroll down memory lane was for me, I still decided to discard everything. The important memories are engrained in my head forever, or at least until the excessive amount of aluminum ingested from beer cans trigger my own bout of Alzheimer’s.

Responses

  1. The only thing you can do with such memories is lay back and try to enjoy it.

  2. Bo Jackson posters.

    http://goodmorninghouston.blogspot.com/2005/07/bo-knows-anonymity.html

  3. we all have our own way of remembering, i guess. i am like you, can’t stand clutter, even if it’s “sentimental”, i often through it out.
    bryan however, keeps EVERYTHING. it takes everything in me not to throw his “junk” out, but it really means something to him. can’t take that away.

  4. I’m the same way….
    I’ll start looking through stuff that I guess had meaning to me enough to keep at one point, and then end up tossing it all.
    Sometimes I regret throwing something away later on though.

  5. I keep a ton of krap. I don’t know why I don’t just throw it away. It has sentimental value I guess, but I so rarely actually go through it.

  6. I used to keep used condoms, empty liquor bottles, drug needles. They had sentimental values … Yeah I know, I am scarying you guys, but I am only joking 😉


Categories

