Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | August 8, 2005

Polka

Maybe thats all family really is, all the same people dreaming of an imaginary place. Zach Braff said it in Garden State. I heard the line playing through my head as my father and uncle playfully teased one another over the fact that Money Magazine had rated Moorestown, New Jersey the best place to live and Naperville, Illinois #3 (my uncle lives there) Pissing contest . . . thats only the beginning.

Weve all been homesick for a place that doesnt really exist. Its a strategy, an idea, a feeling of home,and our imaginary world. Of starting and ending sentences with prepositions, home baked cookies and home made perogies with real sour cream. It’s real, unsensored, and littered with misspellings and tpyos. Some would cringe at the mention of a reunion. Your knee deep in relatives and questions; deeper than a canyon with no escape route.

Blood + Life = FAMILY.

After arriving in Ohio my brother said he would be waiting at the car rental, Youll see me when you walk outside I am in a SUV. I saw him, or so I thought. I opened the back hatch, threw my luggage in the back, and climbed in the passenger seat. The strange man driving smiled and said, Where are we going?

My unprotective brother sat watching the entire thing. Ha Ha.

A family of practical jokers spread out like the Star of David. Boston, New Jersey, P.A., Florida, L.A., Manhattan, San Fran, S.D., Cleveland, Pittsburgh, Chicago, and Houston. Its awesome to think that we are family and get along like champagne and strawberries. More than friends and deeper than soul a baritone Barry White gliding through life with hugs and cheers. Promises were made for future visits, tales were told, and trips planned for time shares.

I miss them already but dont miss the questions. Id make a horrible celebrity. Until I see them again – they are all . . .fucking awesome

Responses

  1. Awww I love that quote from Garden State. I think it’s so true for all of us. I know, this weekend I have to go to Indiana for a wedding and the inquisition will begin.

    So did you get in the wrong car then???

    Glad you had a good time….you still haven’t answered my interview.

  2. So you got into a car with someone else? Nice, your brothers hillarious.

  3. Oh, how embarrassing about the SUV thing. But awesome that you had such a good reunion.

  4. I love the “champagne and strawberries” line. Enjoy Cleveland. If you get a chance, the area around Severance Hall is one of my favorite places and Coventry Rd. in Cleveland Heights is fun and funky.

  5. Sass, wouldn’t it be funny if you feel in love and married that guy whose SUV you got into? It would be a funny story at your wedding.

  6. Marry the guy? Funny ! Sass, suffers from the classic case of commitment phoebia 😉

    Alcohol is her only true love 😉

  7. sounds like you have a nice family

  8. Agree with Kristin. Great quote. But then again, I’m always partial to any reference to GS. Family is great, wild, crazy, annoying, loving, and caring all at the same time, isn’t it? I’m glad you had a great time.

  9. I’m going to Cleveland next week.

    That “accidentally” jumped into the wrong car thing could be a great way to meet men!

    Thanks for the puppy support.


Categories

