Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | August 9, 2005

Tag Your It

Cough Cough. Still feeling a little ill from my trip to Ohio did the clean air get me sick?

Ive been tagged by Plantation, in all efforts to play nice here I go.

10 Years Ago Today
I was living in San Diego with out a care in the world

Five Years Ago Today
I was in a long term relationship with the Choker. We were living in sin; I was working for a dot com incubator in Houston.

1 Year Ago Today
I was working for the same company, in a smaller apartment, and had just met Ronda through F.

Yesterday

My father drove me to the airport in Cleveland. I had a beer in an airport bar and met an adorable couple on their way to Vegas and a glass of wine on plane with fresh out of college sorority tan girl (honey dont you know tanning is bad for you and orange isnt a skin tone). Putted around my apartment and finished reading Sammys Hill by Kristen Gore (Als daughter)

Tomorrow
I will be at the office in the morning forging ahead and making physicians sign on the dotted line in the afternoon. 10 mile run in the evening its my escape.

5 Snacks I enjoy
I seem to have a very strange addiction to hummus and dip everything in hummus. Smoothies from Jamba Juice, Gummi bears, Pita Chips, Pretzels

5 Bands That I Know the Lyrics to Most of Their Songs:
Bowling for Soup, Offspring, Foo Fighters, Sublime, & Smash Mouth

5 Things I Would Do with a $100,000,000:

Buy my parents a beach house and put away money for their retirement, take my siblings and their families on a trip to Europe, Spend a month on the Greek Isles, Travel everywhere, Help the needy and do more volunteer work.

5 Locations I Would Like to Run Away to:
The Greek Isles, Ireland, Ibiza, Big Sur, & Belize

5 Bad Habits I Have:
Chocolate and Good n Plentys, picking at my nail polish, not returning phone calls or emails, talking to loud, & driving my car on empty

5 Things I Like Doing:
Enjoy a great glass of wine with a friend, watching the sun set, reading/writing, zoning out with IPOD and going for a long run, & attending sports events or concerts (Go EAGLES)

5 Things I would Never Wear
Fuchsia anything, blue eyeliner, my catholic school uniform ever again, sequins, & animal print

5 TV Shows I Like(d):
Boston Legal, The Batchelor (forgive me), Alias, Will & Grace, & Frasier

5 Movies I Like
Amelie, Love Actually, The Lost Boys, Princess Bride, & Miss Congeniality

5 Famous People I would Like to Meet
I would have liked to have met Pope John Paul, Madeline Albright, Faith Hill, Robin Williams, & Harvey Keitel

5 Biggest Joys at the Moment:
Gummi Bears, Pictures from the weekend, my IPOD, an email from sister, & planning a cruise for the fall.

5 favorite toys:
My IPOD, Rubix Cube, Blackberry, My friends, and Jo my cat

People to Tag:
This is completely optional but I will tag Shelley, Justin, Kiki, Sarah, Tim, Thomas, Wendi, Alison, Tiny Hands, Daniel Lisa, & Irf

Responses

  1. So animal print is out of the picture? Damn…

  2. Mmm, Jamba Juice. Too bad about the Catholic School girl uniform though….

  3. Jess, I have really been tagged? Omigod! Omigod! I have heard of people being tagged but I never thought it would happen to lil’ ol’ me.

  4. ive got some catching up to do, but im back. just thought id say hello. ive missed your words.

  5. hmmm…lotsa fun stuff…
    i am an ipod fanatic..playing right now..

    “Hey man, now you’re really living!” – eels

    thanks for the fun reading, sass – about a month left and i too will be enjoying all of these wonderful things you write about…until then..
    baked fish, writer’s block, one-ply and stale friends.
    daniel

  6. Ok Jess can you please tell me WHAT is hummus and what does it taste like? I’ve read about it, heard about it but never actually seen it or known anyone who actually eats it! Educate this thirtysomething chick will ya? 🙂 Jess

  7. i’ll have mine up in a couple days!!

  8. Thanks for playing. I enjoyed your answers. I like you snacks, you music choices, and the things you like doing. Wow, 10 miles a day. Incredible.

  9. Thanks those that played along.

    Ghost – I missed ya

    Jess,
    Hummus is mashed chickpeas (garbanzos) seasoned with garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, and spices. You can buy it in your grocery store. It’s great to dip veggies and pita bread in or to put it on sandwiches. (pssst..it’s good for you too)

    Plantation – I do one long 10 miler once a week. Just for fun.

  10. Thanks Jess….ok I will take the plunge and try hummus, though I don’t think my husband would dare touch it!! 🙂

  11. 10 Years Ago Today
    I was a sophmore in college, and still a music major.

    Five Years Ago Today
    I was *still* in school, only I was now in law school.

    1 Year Ago Today
    I was living and working in Naples, Florida, at one of the worst offices I have ever been in, and that’s saying a lot.

    Yesterday
    I interviewed two people for a receptionist job. The funny part is the former Hooters Girl was the more presentable, personable, intelligent, and reserved one of the two. I prepared some documents, and went to the gym. Then last night I hung out with some girl that I thinks wants a relationship or sex or both, but I’m just not that into her. I’m not sure what to say. So we were talking to 1 in the morning. We have great conversation. I just have no attraction to her. Too bad.

    Tomorrow
    I will work, interview, and try to enjoy my evening. Hopefully, I will avoid anymore late nights with girls I’m not attracted to without any notion of how I express this to them.

    5 Snacks I enjoy
    Baked chips, hummus, Goldfish, grapes, Cold Stone ice cream

    5 Bands That I Know the Lyrics to Most of Their Songs:
    Billy Joel, Paul Simon, 3 Doors Down, Madonna, and Harry Connick, Jr. (This does not necessarily reflect the music I listen to the most.)

    5 Things I Would Do with a $100,000,000:
    Buy my mom a house and let her retire, buy a sailboat and start sailing everywhere, start more places for kids – like Boys and Girls Clubs and such – and programs to help them, and try to setup more battered women’s shelters and such. I’d also like to start better internship programs for kids and scholarship funds.

    5 Locations I Would Like to Run Away to:
    Australia, New Zealand, Carmel or Napa Valley (never been to either but I hear good things), Chicago, or the Bahams.

    5 Bad Habits I Have:
    It sometimes takes me awhile to fold my laundry, I should clean more, I don’t take the time to settle into the place I live – probably because I have moved so frequently, I’m too honest sometimes, and I fall for the wrong type of women frequently.

    5 Things I Like Doing:
    Enjoy a time with my friends (and preferably a drink or six), listening to music (often jazz), sex, cooking/eating, and sleeping.

    5 Things I would Never Wear
    A dress (even though my friend is dying to see me dress in drag), nail polish, piercings, a wig, and lipstick.

    5 TV Shows I Like(d):
    The Practice, The Daily Show, The Mind of Carlos Mancia, Will and Grace, The Simpsons

    5 Movies I Like
    The Princess Bride, Swingers, Spy Game, Good Will Hunting, and What About Bob?

    5 Famous People I would Like to Meet
    Ghandi, Billy Joel, Harry Connick, Jr., Duke Ellington, and Louis Armstrong

    5 Biggest Joys at the Moment:
    Music, my job, my friends, good conversations, and hope

    5 favorite toys:
    My cell phone, my computer, my stereo, my tv, and a pool table if I had one (I guess).

  12. 10 Years Ago Today
    Finishing up by bachelor’s degree in history at UH

    Five Years Ago Today
    Teaching high school history at an HISD school.

    1 Year Ago Today
    Beginning this questionaire.

    Yesterday
    Renting movies and then, and then watching them.

    Tomorrow
    Buying textbooks for my last semester of school ever.

    5 Snacks I enjoy
    Fruit, cheese nips, doritos, nestles crunch, buffalo wings

    5 Bands That I Know the Lyrics to Most of Their Songs:
    I have a terrible memory but let me try: Offspring, Dave Matthews Band, Sugar Ray,the Beatles, and Green Day

    5 Things I Would Do with a $100,000,000:
    Travel. Pay off student loans. Pay off dad’s loans (he already has a house). Start a college fund for my niece. Pay off my last two payments on my car.

    5 Locations I Would Like to Run Away to:
    Japan, China, Russia, India, and Ibiza (because Hugh Grant mentioned it in About a Boy)

    5 Bad Habits I Have:
    not even checking phone calls or emails, text messaging while driving, forgetting I have two cats for a day at a time, watching movies all day regardless of school work or work work, reading too many newspapers

    5 Things I Like Doing:
    reading, making myself laugh, making my niece laugh, riding my bicycle, playing frisbee

    5 Things I would Never Wear
    Fuchsia anything, blue eyeliner, my catholic school uniform ever again, sequins, & animal print

    5 TV Shows I Like(d):
    24, The West Wing, Sex and the City, Nip/Tuck, The Wire

    5 Movies I Like
    Million Dollar Baby, Love Actually, About a Boy, Robocop, Sneakers

    5 Famous People I would Like to Meet
    President Bush, President Clinton, Hilary Swank, J.K. Rowling (what happens in Book 7, J.K.?), and that really cute girl in my Texas Pre-Trial Procedure class from last semester

    5 Biggest Joys at the Moment:
    niece being born, going to the Philippines, going to Europe, finishing a really good book, meeting really interesting people for the first time

    5 favorite toys:
    bicycle, computer, my new cell phone (by golly gee – it works!). I can only think of three since I am non-materialistic.

  13. Hey rookies Justin and Thomas, I think the idea is to post your answers on YOUR blog. And why can’t I spell ‘your’ these days?


Categories

