Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | August 10, 2005

First Day of School

I’ve posted this before but I am tired of seeing things about me listed and am to busy at work to write anything new. So in honor of my niece starting kindergarten today, I’m tearing up just thinking about it, I’m lazy and posting it again

They stood in a perfect line mimicking every move I made. Their hats were pushed to the left with a sideways slant representing the slightest bit of style. I could tell it was going to be one of those days they color outside of the lines with a purpose.

“Very good now loosen up your shoulders and put a little bounce in your knees. You’ve got it. Now let’s start from the chorus – 1….2….3”

“If yah status ain’t hood
I ain’t checkin for yah
Betta be street if he lookin at me
I need a soldier!”

She walked into the room trying not to smile barely brushing my shoulder.

“Thank-you for teaching my kids hip hop. Kids get your shoes and say good-bye to Aunt Jess. We need to be on time for preschool.”

Responses

  1. Okay one word – ADORABLE!

  2. keeping it real in the sassy world? Chillaxin?
    Fun was had by daniel.
    How are you today oh wonderful sassy one?
    me- one hour of sleep and chasing deadlines like crazy…loving it.

  3. That’s too cute. Visions of four year olds sining “If your status ain’t hood” will make me smile for a long time.

  4. Any word on how your niece’s first day of school went?

  5. this is one of my favorite posts.


Categories

