Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | August 11, 2005

Blocked

Writing has its own sense of rhythm like the sound of a trumpet or the clicking of a heel on a sidewalk. There are countless days when the essence of my thoughts float freely from mind to fingertips in fluid lucidity. And there are days such as today when my thoughts are tangled in my head like a knotted cob web. So,I emailed John, “I don’t want to do it today. Want to do it for me?”

His response, “All day team training (personality assessments) today. Turns out I’m complicated and schizophrenic. (always the joker that John) I can throw something together when I get out”

With listless patience
Sass

Responses

  1. Should I volunteer my services as a guest blogger, Jessica?

  2. Hmmm, hate those days. Start w/ I remember and write for 5 min w/ out stopping. If you get stumped, go back to the beginning (I remember) and start over. A little exercise from Creative Writing class. You may or may not end up w/ something you’ll post but likely you’ll learn something about yourself, as well as get the muse back.

  3. Happens to me a lot lately. There are so many things going on in my life, yet I can find no words to describe them. Every writer has her day. It’ll come to you Sass, can’t wait to read them! 🙂

  4. Your blocked writing is better than my unblocked writing. That little piece may have been short but it was wonderful.

  5. Don’t worry, you’re not alone. Nice tip, Alison. I might give that a shot some time.

  6. Sass, I am inviting a lot of people to guest blog on my site, would you do the honors?

  7. I’m impressed because when I’m blocked, I just don’t post. Way to be resourceful


Categories

