Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | August 23, 2005

Brown Paper Packages

You donít want to hear about the rocks my temples have turned into from a sinus infection. Or how I am stressed at work and have bit my tongue more than once today. So I have compiled a list of things that put me at ease when my face turns the color of my hair at this circus clown job.

Laughing so hard your face hurts.
A hot shower. The first sip of coffee.
Taking a drive on a shaded road.
Hearing your favorite song on the radio and singing in the car. Lying in bed listening to the rain outside on a Sunday morning. Knowing my nieces and nephews will envelope me with hugs the moment I walk in the door.

*Random emails from a good friend b/c we havenít talked in TWO days.

Finally purchasing my tickets for The Texans.
The smell of fresh baked bread.
A bubble bath and a glass of wine.
Giggling with my nieces and nephews.
Talking to an old friend.
Talking to my siblings or sharing childhood memories.
Finding a 20 dollar bill in your coat from last winter.
Laughing at yourself (I do this daily).
Midnight phone calls that last for hours, not the drunken kind. Running through sprinklers.
Sideways glances.
Corny jokes
Silly Pictures
Laughing at an inside joke.
LOVE & FRIENDSHIP
Waking up and realizing you still have a few hours left to sleep (like this morning when I woke from a nightmare at 3:30am).
Making eye contact with a cute stranger, hubba hubba.
A good book
Having your friend pass you a warm chocolate chip cookie during the movie during Broken Flowers. Thanks Angelique.
Watching the sunrise then later savoring the sunset.
Knowing that somebody misses you and I cross their mind as much as they cross mine.
Feeling as though I am bigger than my size and yes, I can conquer all.

I’m taking stress down for the count.

Now back to your regularly scheduled program

Responses

  1. Aww, poor baby.

    You’ve got to get well … the weekend is coming.

  2. chicken noodle soup, sass. dont forget the soup.

  3. Sorry you’re stressed, but this is a great idea. I am going to do it next time I am stressed.

  4. What was our regularly scheduled program again? Your list was too distracting, Jessica.

  5. Thinking of you. Laughing to myself at being silly with you, fighting with you and just down right glad that someone else in the world feels things as intensely as we do. Love you soul sister and beyond.
    Tiffy

  6. Wow, a football fan too. She continues to amaze.


Categories

