Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | August 28, 2005

I love you this much

I woke up with two feet the size of a palm in my face. For once it wasn’t from a drunken night, but it had been a wild night. The previous night we were jitterbug drunk on high fructose juice, home made pizza, and chocolate chip mint ice cream.

After a long week at work, I had relaxed my dress for a Friday and dialed my sister in law in hopes I could borrow my nieces for the night. After promising I wouldn’t sell them or make them become vegetarians, plans were made for a sleepover.

The clock began to tick at a slower pace as people phased in and out of the office. I answered calls and returned emails until, I had enough. Grabbing my bag I hit the light switch, and told the boss to have a good weekend for proper measure. On the drive, I gathered the bare essentials. Snacks (the ones loaded with ingredients to make your skin glow in the dark), puzzles, and coloring books.

I picked them up shortly after 4:00 p.m. and made the “long” drive back. We stopped to paint pottery, went to the grocery store, and hit up Blockbuster. We then settled down for an evening of dancing with the music up a smidge to loud, snacking, and a movie extravaganza. Our bellies were full as we whimpered huddled together in my over sized chair and shared a box of tissues. I had forgot how sad My Girl is.

Saturday morning they bounded out of bed insisting upon swimming. I was out numbered. Splashing around and jumping off the sides we moved from pool to pool performing cannon ball dives. I played with them like I was the one who was 5.

“Aunt Jess, catch me.”

I tried to catch M. while pulling S. around the pool pretending to be a motor boat. I caught her and quickly catapulted her to the other side of the pool. M. bobbed to the surface spitting out water while swimming to S. and I.

“Aunt Jess, I love you.”
“I love you too.”
“Forever and ever?”
“And ever. And ever.”

Responses

  1. We could have a play date with my niece E. Except she is only 6.5 months old. But she is really good at pulling people’s hair and grabbing their glasses.

  2. Wonderful 🙂

  3. That sounds so fun! And they sound so cute!

  4. I always thought uncles were the cool ones. Maybe it’s only the really cool red headed aunts that are cool. I need me one of those.

  5. :missing my daughter:

  6. How sweet!!

  7. and ever…

  8. ….and a million infinity

  9. Very sweet and good practice for motherhood. I think you’ve got the knack for it if so inclined.


Categories

