Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | September 27, 2005

Piece of my heart

There are songs that hit you and strike an emotional cord. You’ve heard the song for years over and over. When you hear the song it’s like a train running through your head on a link to happiness. No matter where you are or what you are doing you shift in your shoes and purse your lips resisting the urge to sing out loud. The symphony of the beat and the mix of the lyrics make you stop in your tracks.

Just the thought of this song makes me want to run down a hill, jump on a swing, and pump my legs as high as the song will carry me.

“I pulled my harpoon out of my dirty red bandanna,
I was playing soft while bobby sang the blues.
Windshield wipers slapping time, I was holding bobby’s hand in mine,
We sang every song that driver knew.”

Janis Joplin is from Port Arthur, Texas. Which is about an hour and a half from here and part of my sales territory.

We were spared during Hurricane Rita. While others were beaten by wind and rain, we were playing poker & foosball. While the rest of the city was strapped in their cars, I was having a party at my pool.

We were scared drunk. Nervous really.

I recall thinking this may be what it’s like to be on your death bed. You’re sitting there immobilized waiting for something to happen. Just waiting for destruction or your own demise. Nothing can stop what’s coming your way . . . you don’t even know what is coming your way but in the end – you know it will be bad.

Then, we realized RITA WAS A TEASE

So we partied

Beaumont and Port Arthur were hit –the hardest and will be dealing with the destruction for months to come. I’m trying to reach my clients down there. Wherever you are I hope you are able to listen to some music or at the very least hum a little tune to keep a percolated beat in your step.

“Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose,
Nothing, that’s all that bobby left me, yeah,
But feeling good was easy, lord, when he sang the blues,
Hey, feeling good was good enough for me, hmm hmm,
Good enough for me and my bobby mcgee.

La la la, la la la la, la la la, la la la la
La la la la la bobby mcgee.
La la la la la, la la la la la
La la la la la, bobby mcgee, la.”

Responses

  1. Pleased you are safe!

    “la la la la la, bobby mcgee, la!”

  2. everytime i hear a song from bon jovi’s new jersey album i think of her and wonder whats shes doing.

  3. Damn that teasing bitch. I could have come after all.

  4. la la la la la, Bobby Mcgee! Good tune in my head now…thanks! 🙂

  5. I swear on a stack of bibles I heard this song this morning while driving to work. As I listed to the lyrics, “Busted flat in baton rouge, waiting for a train
    And i’s feeling nearly as faded as my jeans.
    Bobby thumbed a diesel down just before it rained,
    It rode us all the way to new orleans,” I smiled to myself and thought of all the hurricane victims. I listened to the lyrics you wrote and also thought of my life, too. I guess great minds think alike, huh Jess? P.S. The song was written by Kris Kristofferson.

  6. Tim – let me know when your meetings are rescheduled

    Plantation – yes I know Kris Kristofferson wrote the song on his album a tribute to Bobby Mcgee. Funny guy that K.k. pilot, rhodes scholar, west point graduate, & singer song writer.

    Amazing.

  7. I’m glad that you guys didn’t get hit!!

  8. no joke…although i did get a nice 6 day vacation in austin because of it!!


Categories

