Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | September 29, 2005

Oktoberfest in Houston

by guest blogger John

I foresee a drop in personal productivity on the horizon, although this anticipated letdown will undoubtedly be accompanied with a marked increase in merriment. October may very well be my favorite month of the year. It is a time of year when everybody is happy to have said goodbye to the sweltering heat, yet still oblivious to the upcoming stress of the holidays.

October is about postseason baseball. It is one of the few legitimate excuses for going to work with a hangover more than once in one week. If we are lucky enough to have the Astros make it deep into the postseason, then it is a certainty I will be putting my liver through a stress test. If not for the Astros elimination in the NLCS, I may not be here today, as my body may not have made it through the World Series. As if baseball were not enough, Saturdays, Sundays, and Mondays are dedicated to football.

With so much time dedicated to sports in October, it is important to find people with equal disregard for their careers. For single people, October is the perfect opportunity to find someone else with whom to pal around. That summer relationship was fine for spending hot summer nights indoors, but fall presents different needs and the company of a different type personality. The ideal person enjoys baseball and football, will play hooky from work on a beautiful Thursday afternoon to sit on a patio with a cold beverage, and would be content not going inside until November.

My indifference to responsibly in October has been a long-standing tradition. I recall how as kids, friends and I took neighbor’s fall decorations (pumpkin, bail of hay, gourds), and put them on other neighbor’s houses. We had four or five houses swapped before my friend got caught running down the street with a neighbor lady’s scarecrow. As any good friends would do, we let him take the blame.

So now I wait with eager anticipation for the first bit of October. Until then drink plenty of water, scope out a few patios, and be careful where you leave your pumpkin.

Responses

  1. love the blog.
    check out mine at borderbelle.blogspot.com

  2. Thanks John,

    Stro’s lost last night – we have saturday and Sunday but, football rules sunday’s in my book.

    I’m giving september a swift kick out the door. Bye Rita and Katrina and sadly both Ronda and Rhonda are moving this weekend details on the flip side.

  3. since I’ll be laying over in Houston–at some hotel near the airport–in late October, on my way further south–anything I should be aware of? Of course, i don’t plan on renting a car.

  4. I shall be carefull, very very careful! 🙂

  5. oh ‘l’!!!

  6. ok…if you kind find somebody new for me to “pal around with” please let me know ;-)~ otherwise my drunken october nights will be spent curling up with my fleece blanket in my flannel pajamas and big bunny slippers…alone…


Categories

