Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | October 7, 2005

I’m Out.

When I arrived at the company event, I felt like a spoiled brat. The settings were lavish and paid for. The evening was voluntary, but mandatory. I had my reasons not to attend. I have no desire to drink in excess with those that see me on a professional level. I attended none the less.

Uncomfortable at first. There were the engineers, and more engineers, CEOs, VPs, CFOs, and three sales people. Out numbered by 40 or so. I pulled my belongings together when the shots began. I know, whose blog are you reading?

I had my agenda.

Oh come on it will be more fun this way. Loosen up a little.
Im not driving my new car drunk. Im not driving drunk at all.

I said the proper good-byes and joked about the potty putter that was given to the president.

Your wife is going to wonder what you REALLY do at work.

You know we are in the top 5 for the Houston Business Journals technology companies. A film crew is coming tomorrow.

And youre telling me this now? I am on my way to watch the game and ..Ill try to be on my best behavior .see you tomorrow.

I stopped at the bar to shoo away the shots and left with a, Go Stros hoorah.

20 minutes later the shirts were flying around my apartment. Pink? Blue? Black? Cleavage or no cleavage? Cleavage.

I Zipped up my jeans as a coworker phoned, Where are you? Im coming.

Getting ready to go meet whats his name and friends. . . . Fine. . . Come with.

We stumbled, bumbled, hoorayed, laughed, and insulted one another for good measure.

This morning the stories are milling around the engineering pit. While I was gauging the mystery man I missed out on all the fun. Calls to wives of not making it home, bowling, shots, and innocuous insults. Someone fell asleep in a pick up truck? How could I have left?

There was that oh whats his name.

I tip the pearls around my neck to John for his invite to the game tomorrow I do oblige.

Responses

  1. Sounds like you made the right choice. Company functions. Boring!


Categories

