Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | October 18, 2005

GIDDY UP!

Amidst the crowd I leaned over and whispered in his ear,

“I’ve learned my lesson with musicians and athletes.”

He knew I was and turned to me responding,

“And doctors and lawyers?”

“Yeah, them too. Don’t count on them. I mean, they build you up and take you to the point of exhaustion all the while toying with your emotions.”

Tuesday evening’s plans were set in stone. It was to be the last time we ventured out to watch a game this week. I was dolled up in new jeans from Sunday’s shopping binge with Kristina and Ronda. And had just stripped in the bathroom. Ripping off a blue shirt replacing it with a shirt Kristina’s date had specially made for her and I. It’s a baby T with an Astro’s star and “H” on the front. The back of the shirt says

2 TICKETS TO THE ASTRO’S GAME: $150.00

2 BEERS AND A HOT DOG : $22.00

A RALLY TOWEL: $10.00

PARKING: $25.00

MAKING IT TO THE WORLD SERIES: PRICELESS

First the Eagles and now the Astro’s?

Gentlemen, I’m waiting.

Now back to your regularly scheduled programming. Speaking of gentlemen. If you are going to apolagize to a girl you’re dating. Don’t do it in a text message. Pick up the phone.

This one, I’ll tell you. But not now. It will have to be later. Tomorrow’s shirt isn’t going to iron itself.

Responses

  1. Wait, you cant apologize in a text message? What about emails and singing telegrams? What about carrier pigeons or letters? What about Fox news in the morning?

  2. no timmy!!! you CANNOT apologize in a text message!!!

  3. yeah..thats a party foul. big time.

  4. Thank you for your apology tips!

  5. So true. Let’s collaborate and write an effen guide book for these guys. You’d think some of this stuff would be common freakin sense.

    Great T. Go Stros!!!

  6. Tim, dude, you can’t even get away with that after marriage. Oh, you can *start* there, but if you value your life, never end it there.
    And, no, sadly, it wasn’t anything as simple as a social faux pax that ended my marriage, so don’t go fishing for that, either. I learned that lesson *before* I had to learn it the hard way.

  7. Sometimes less is more, I like the text apology idea. Apparently I shouldn’t use it.

    Oh sweet sassy, how disappointed you will be when your Astros fall from the sky and get crushed by the Sox. I’ll try not to rub it in too much…


Categories

