Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | October 29, 2005

Play Time

Last night I rubbed three noses and tickled three tummies before kissing three cherubic faces. And wondered if they would miss one. They really shouldn’t be so greedy. Come on now, they have two more.

I was watching over 2 nieces and a nephew while my brother and sister-in-law celebrated their anniversary. I was over due for play time and ready for a Pre-Halloween party. Seemed like the thing to do since I am dressing up tonight.

Rummaging through the toy chest the 4 of us found our costumes and soon began the discussion of who would play the fairy princess? As you can imagine, there were three willing and able candidates. A decision had to be made. Rock paper scissors nearly brought tears to M.’s eyes. We soon realized an impartial party must be brought in. I dialed New Jersey and spoke to the Very Holy Mother.

“Ma’ we gotta problem here. We all want to be the fairy princess.”

She snickered through the phone and said, “Oh my. This IS a huge problem. How about you have a big princess, medium princess, and a small princess.”

The medium princess placed her hands on her hips and replied,

“That’s unacceptable. It’s my way or the highway.”

Hanging up the phone and hiding my laughter I turned to her and said, “Excuse me? How old are you missy?”
And smothered her with kisses from head to toe. She giggled and giggled some more.

Their parents came home after the kids were put to bed. I stayed up into the wee hours of the morning discussing random items with my brother. As I laid my head down last night I realized, there really might be a fairy god mother out there somewhere who turned a random Friday night into Disneyworld meets Dr. Phil for this gal.

******** ******************

Now, I sit here in my empty apartment and this space I have designed. Created really. It’s quiet.

Shhhhhhhhhhhh

I glance at the costume I will drape across my hips and around my shoulders in a few hours. It’s hung neatly on the laundry room door. I can’t help but think, shouldn’t there be more . . . AHEM.

Material?

Suppose this is the one night a year a gal can get away with such. Hoing out for Halloween that is.

As Ronda says, “Oh wells.”

Game on.

Responses

  1. Hmm, that reminds me how much I miss my niece and nephews. And, tonight at church I was making origami birds for the little girl sitting next to me, which seemed to please her father and her both. Only afterwards did I see that her name was the same as my estranged step-daughter.

    I don’t dress up for Halloween any more, my life has been scary enough. But, more power to you for not losing track of your inner child and still doing it. And for taking the risk of a revealing costume.
    I hope you get more treats than tricks. Watch out for the monsters.

  2. What a wonderful bunch of smiles. . .

  3. Such a great story. Sounds like everyone got something good from the night.

    Oh and Halloween is the hoing night of the year, for sure.

  4. I agree with Popeye. Hoing night of the year. Holla!

  5. Hey, I’m not usually a double commenter but I was browsing blogs for updates (hint, hint), looked at that picture again and the first thought that jumped in to my head was how lucky you are to have children in your life who love you that much. Just thought I’d share that. . .

  6. This reminds me of all that I’m missing. Great pic.


Categories

