Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | November 14, 2005

spoon full of sugar

Heres the thing about being single. Some days you wake to your best friends laughter and other days theres a man asleep on your couch. Snoring. You stay out till the early morning dancing the night away and toasting to friends. The night holds an endless amount of possibilities. One never knows where the evening will end. Roof top parties, a friends home, hot tubs, or in the arms of a new beau. Tis very exciting and leaves me in a tizzy. But.

Some days you just feel tragic.

Then you realize, your friends know you better than you thought.

Sunday afternoon I dropped off a storm at the airport, put the car in drive and forged ahead. Sped away really. There are times in my life when my soul cries to be alone. Its a virus that creeps on slowly infecting my soul against its natural happy go lucky state. If not careful, it can send me into a spiral. Thats when the medicine kicks in, breaks down the door, and calls me out.

How I hate being called out. Sometimes a gal needs it. After all, I am the best emotional wall flower I know. Its easier to be honest here than verbalize how I feel. While sitting at lunch Sunday afternoon an idea was launched.

Were just gonna have fun today. Act out and not give a hoot whos watching. Lets go to the gayborhood for dollar vodkas.

Those ladies are my medicine.

Bless them.

i have them too

Responses

  1. LOL!

  2. Well, I have to admit, if my medicine looked like you ladies, I wouldn’t mind taking it so much. Sadly, my medicine looks more like middle-aged men with hair growing out of their ears.

    And, yes, I too find it much easier to be anonymously honest about my feelings on my blog than in Real Life. Though, even there I censor myself quite heavily these days. Sometimes, being single’s not all it’s cracked up to be. Every interaction becomes a dance of measured truth weighed against intimacy sought. Sometimes, that tango just tires me out.

  3. Very nicely put. Nice pictures. Ha, you guys are nuts. I hate guys that snore.

  4. Isn’t it great always to have your girls to back you up? I wouldn’t trade my girls for anything!

  5. I saw you ladies out Thursday night. You all have a great friendship and look like you walked out of a picture frame.

  6. Great talking to you Sunday. Kelley Clarkson has nothing on you.

  7. umm, nice picture! 😉

  8. Reading this and slowly scrolling down I never would have thought to see that picture at the end. Ha! SO funny. Friends are the best. 🙂

  9. I would have lost my mind years ago had it not been for my girls. I’ve said this before but it’s worth repeating: God has had a sense of humor with the men he’s put in my life but he’s outdone himself when it comes to the friends I’ve been given. 🙂 Happy to know you have that too!

  10. friends are the best insurance policy ever.

  11. Better late than never ;o)
    Thanks for stopping by!

  12. Well said Sass. Sounds and looks like so much fun!

  13. The whole singleness thing really is a mixed bag. I really like coming back to my apartment and it just being quiet but there are other days it just feels painfully empty. I have friends but they’re scattered around the country. I’ve never really had a tight group of friends around here who would/could call me out like this. You are very lucky.

  14. One good thing about being married is I have someone to call and pick me up when a migraine headache suddenly hits me.

  15. Newly single as of just this morning. I had forgotten what the single life is and now remember why I hate it so. We should hang out sometime so you can enlighten me on how to make it bearable.

  16. Reagan,

    My heart just sank when I read that. Will definately be seeing ya out.


Categories

