Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | November 29, 2005

What love is worth

Hey God,

Can we talk? I have a problem.

The little ones are adorable and irresistible even when they have snot running from their nose to their mouth. They turn their head and cough six inches from my face. It’s amusing until their mother yells at them to cover their mouth. When they were sick this past weekend –well – I lacked the restraint to not hold their tiny bodies cradling them in my arms. Even after they threw up.

This morning I woke to a cough, runny nose, and body aches. The boss man would have none of it. Getting out of bed was a chore. A Laura Ingalls Wilder chore. My body aches from hauling water from the well to the homestead. My throat is a haven for pin cushions. And my nose is representing the Christmas spirit with it’s glowing red shine.

Maybe you shouldn’t make those little ones so darn cute? Change those tiny voices that ring like Peter Pan knocking on my window to that of a life long smoker and whisky drinker.

What I am I saying? No. No. No. Don’t do that. How about not letting them get sick so much?

Can you work with me here?

The “Mother Hen” at the office just brought me in some ginger ale and a muffin. While I am at it God, thanks for your angels.

But damn all viruses and bugs.

All my love,

Sass

Responses

  1. aw, i am simultaneously sorry for you and humored. i love the image of children with smoked out voices. haha. one of my little cousins has the best little raspy voice. a little different from a smoker, but still.

    feel better.

  2. You crack me up! I hope you feel better soon! 🙂

  3. sorry, darlin’. but don’t stop a postin’!

    how about a pic of that cute nose?

    ggg.

  4. Yeah, my sister pushed my nephew into my face so he could kiss my nose a few weeks ago, and he coughed about an inch from my nose. Everyone laughed. I was not amused. Feel better Sass!

  5. Hope you feel better! I agree with you, though, little ones are completely irresistable.

  6. is it ok that i’m developing a crush on that cartoon at the top of your blog?

  7. Germ fests though they might be, they are blesings, aren’t they. And clearly they have no issue with sharing. Hope you get well soon.

  8. hope you’re feeling better soon jess!

  9. Well said. I hope you’re feeling better soon. Those damn viruses and bugs…

  10. Hope you feel better soon! I feel your pain. One of the zomblings brought something home and I’ve had it for like 3 weeks now. It just will NOT go away.

  11. Get your sassy ass well before the weekend.

  12. Don’t think of it as being sick, so much as it is a process of building immunity. At least you got to have fun with the little devils, eh? As someone who’s separated from his niece and nephews and step-daughter, I can tell you, that makes it worth it. At least, to me it did.

  13. Hey, thanks for stopping by the blog!

  14. Might I suggest… http://chasingtheamericandream.blogspot.com/2005/02/mans-greatest-inventiondiscovery.html

  15. The nephews did exactly the same thing to me last week. A full-body sneeze down the length of my arm. My sinuses closed-up a little bit the other day (the warm humid weather didn’t help) but a double-shot of vitamin C and I’ll pull through.


Categories

