Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | December 24, 2005

A ghost of football past and run on sentences

He really lives in this small little town my parents, sister, brother-in-law, niece and nephew reside in. EVERYONE talks about it, apparently. Not only does he, another kinder version that is more tame whose mother’s heart is bigger than a line drive pass lives in the same subdivision.

Yes my friends Terrell Owens and Donovan McNabb live here. And Santa Clause works at the local Home Depot.

It’s colder than cold this morning as I stare at the computer screen sipping hot chocolate with marshmallows preparing to lace up my running shoes for the morning jog with my sister.

Today is our day of the traditions our ancestors passed down. My heart will stretch to the outer limits of my chest while we break opwatek bestowing wishes to one another for the new year. But Borscht – tell me why must I eat Borscht every year? Then I remember what traditions are. They are hugs from relatives passed to us long after they have moved on and a way for US to carry on the Spirit and feelings of warmth wrapped in the Love of Friends and Family.

Christmas has a way of changing everything.

Two years ago I sat wanting to steal the pain from a sibling as tears strolled down her face. Wanting to tackle it, pin it down, and punt it to Tim Buck Two. Unsure of the future’s secret blessing we were scared unstable. Today, they have a miracle on Third Street. Two days after that Christmas Day of 2003 we learned of another blessing He bestowed upon us. She’s sitting on my lap saying the word I’ve taught her yesterday, “Dude” and the phrase, “Vegas Baby.” Her Dude sounds more like Duuud and Vegas Baby sounds more like a Ewok phrase. She’s also come to the conclusion that everytime she presses a button on her stuffed dog it magicly makes me dance around the room. That kids a genius I tell ya.

While I am enjoying our Great Eat Feast of 2005 with twelve members of my family and missing five that stayed in Texas, yes we are one of those rather large Catholic families, I wish for you many blessings and time to express your love to those that are dear to you. In the words of my father, “As we celebrate our Savior’s birth and thank Him for the blessing of family and friends, we ask that He continue to bless us all in the New Year. “

“Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus” (even at Home Depot).

This little light of ours is going to shine. Let it shine. Let it shine.

Responses

  1. Merry Christmas, Jess. I’m sure Texas longs for your safe return.

  2. I was getting choked up by the end of that post. It is what Christmas is all about, after all. Let the Light shine.
    Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  3. oh, god, i have a whopper of a headache. too much wine, my dad likes to pour. no way i could have jogged this morning.

    my grandmother has had a reprint of that famous letter to the editor on her frig since i was a small child.

  4. Same to you, dear Sass.

  5. Merry Christmas to you too, sweetie!

  6. I already wished you a Merry Christmas, but after reading this post, I had to leave something…

    . Maybe something can be worked out prior to the big one, we’ll see.

    Our traditions are not the same, but I can appreciate the one’s that you have.

    Enjoy your Christmas Day! I will be posting my Christmas when I get home from the parents on Sunday.

  7. Hope you are having a beautiful Christmas!

  8. Sass, did you get to wear your tank top for Christmas? Because it is about 60 degrees down here in Houston currently. I am sitting outside wearing shorts and a t-shirt.

  9. Hey little lady, merry christmas. Hope all is well with you and yours. I hope Santa brought you everything you wanted becasuse I know for sure that you’ve been a naughty girl and not a good one. Santa’s little elf told me. He hasnt been able to walk right since. Okay, I’m only playin, but I hope today is awesome for you. Peace girl…holla.

    Tim

  10. Awww Sass!! I love this post!! Merry Christmas Baby!!

  11. Sounds like a great holiday. I hope 2006 is even better for you.

  12. Amen!

  13. hope you enjoyed…sounds alive and lovely. the jog sounded great to me. 🙂

  14. I hope you read all the way to the bottom since I’m way down here but I want to thank you for your recent comment and your compassion. I appreciate your support and friendliness – as I have for a while now. Sometime in 2006, let’s meet for either coffee or, you know me by now, a glass of champagne! I hope your time in NJ was filled with the joy that the warmth and love of family gives.

  15. Dude!! press it again…maker her dance!!

  16. I have a bone to pick with Terrell Owens because he totally screwed up my fantasy football team with his asshole-ness.

    Oh well, the laughs on him because my team is in the championship game this coming weekend. So f-you, T.O.

  17. P.S. Merry Belated Christmas to you, Sass.

  18. What a great story!!!!

  19. That was a great post. Sorta reminded me of Linus’ speech in the Charlie Brown special. I almost got kinda choked up.

    Almost.

    And you have to love those large Catholic family get-togethers. We had ours last year. Nobody travelled this year.

    Hope your Christmas was a great one!


Categories

