Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | December 30, 2005

Turn around bright eyes

Thursday morning an email pinged a red light on the Blackberry.

Ronda: Plans for tonight?
J: Boxing class and rest liver.
Hours later her emails were not direct, true friends know when something is wrong. So I went to boxing class. Ha ha. Just kidding.
J: A.S.A.P. after work. Just say where.

Over sushi and splintered chopsticks we discussed the last year, ideas for the future, goals tossed to wolves, and New Years Eve. In the last year we’ve learned to finish the sentences we could not complete twelve months ago. We’ve grown and seen pain, filth, strife, felt our own and felt, really felt, others burning misery in the wake of Katrina. 2005 started as a wart that became infected and vanished leaving scars of rememberance in bands of rainbows and feeling the rain. Dick Clark – still brought it – with out being there to say 3-2-1. With that, I look back and say, Bring it double. Red Rover is Coming Over.

If thinking inside the box was an annual race where the gold medal was awarded during the closing ceremonies New Years Eve, I would have been disqualified at the starting block in January.

The blog began as an outlet, an escape. I was anonymous the Suspect no one knew. The voice of any and every woman finding her own while doing everything and more.

January Fed up with roommate, have drunk college friend kiss my date while I was in bathroom. (Make mental note to try holding grudges in 2005)
February Give up Fourbucks, make-up with friend, glad the New York Jerk and Shad are out of my life, not for good. (Can not hold grudge or be mad at anyone – blame parents – oh crud -can’t really do that)
March – Apparently March never happened b/c March didnt archive correctly when site was built. Suck it.
April Living alone once again, surprise b-day karaoke party, question his question.
May – Visit home consider unmentionables, Shad enters life once again, and hubba hubba.
JuneHeartache’s sunrise – ‘he let me down when he didn’t disappoint me.’
JulyBig Chill 2005 (10 yr. high school reunion) question mortality after being lost in the woods and realize my best friends from high school . . . are still just that.)
August – Family reunion, “Maybe thats all family really is, all the same people dreaming of an imaginary place. Zach Braff said in Garden State. End month Swinging on a star and curing ick. And ten years prove I went from bad to worse then definately, back to better.
September– Yours Very Truly holds Bobby McGee’s hand recalling hippyish roots. Rita tells Houston to leave.
October – Am asked, “How comfortable is your couch?” and it’s not a trick. Ha.
November – Escape kidnapping experience in Mexico City, Storms brew and the sun comes out, am sick with love.
December: Drank to much, cried a many, prayed not enough, know with each passing year I’m learning, growing, fighting through the tears, loving, doing the best I can, and watching others do the same.

AMEN.

Responses

  1. Quite a year, that you had. Mine is not so organized as that. Good idea, though. I may have to think of doing something similar.

  2. I find myself frequently at a loss for words when I try to quantify what it is about your writing that makes my breath catch in my throat. Still, I make fumbling attempts to express that formless thing that happens when I read this. I know it’s mostly my imagination, but I hear such loneliness and ennui in posts like this, no matter where they are.

    I hope the next year goes more the way you planned. I doubt it will, because that seems to be the way of the world, but hope springs eternal.

  3. As Tori says, “Pretty God Year” my friend.

  4. I’ve enjoyed reading your journey this year. Isn’t it odd to look back at the year from today though? I’ve got scraps of paper on which I’ve started to jot things down like you have but realize that my whole site is just that. Still there is a need to tie the laces…

    Here’s hopeing you have a safe and happy new year’s eve!

  5. It’s true — you are a great writer and even though I’m new to the Life of Sass, well, I’m glad to be here. Hope the next year is as full of adventures, but maybe not as many potentially painful life lessons.

    Happy New Year, Sass!!

  6. happy new year!!! i know you’ll bring it in sassy style!

  7. Blogs are a great outlet aren’t they?

  8. i think i need a comfortable couch.

  9. Hey, don’t stop going to Fourbucks! I’m a shareholder!

    I understand we have something in common: our cell phone providers…FYI.

    Happy New Year.

  10. You didn’t give up on Fourbucks did you? I just love me some Sass. And she is a Longhorn gal to boot… 🙂
    Hope you have a Happy New Year Sass! I will need your support for this upcoming week. I am stressing like a sack o’ nuts in a vice grip… 🙂

    Hook Em’ Horns
    C.

  11. I think that Mexican kidnapping story is my favorite.

    Happy New Year and best wishes for 2006!

  12. Wow! That sounds like one hell of a year! I hope next year is a little less exciting for you!

  13. 2006 is on its way!

    Happy New Year x

  14. Merry New Year (in my best Eddie Murphy Trading Places accent) dear Sass. I’m glad we ‘met.’ You’re truly one of my faves. Looking forward to sharing stories with you in 06…PT

  15. You’ve had a very interesting year, Sass. I love your outlook on it all. If you need any help, I am really great at holding grudges. I might be able to give you a few pointers. 🙂
    Happy New Year babe!

  16. Have a happy and safe new year.

  17. I didn’t know about the kidnapping attempt. That’s scary.
    Anyway, Happy New year.

  18. Hope you have fun and safe New Year!!!!!

  19. Hope your new year is off to a great start. cheers…

  20. Happy New Year my friend! May 2006 bring you nothing but laughs, good shoes, strong drinks and a few good men. 🙂

  21. Yo, Happy New Year! Best of luck in 2006. Yes, i am finally back home.

  22. Nice blog site babe!

  23. missed your voice.

  24. Blog for me baby. I’m too busy working on side projects and KC to talk about nothing. You do it so well.. 😉

  25. BEAUTIFUL!!!! And what a fabulous way to get to know you without digging through archives 🙂


Categories

