Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | January 5, 2006

Untamed heart

It’s one of those diaglogues from a movie that sticks with you – the movie Untamed Heart.

Adam: I wonder if you think about me.
Caroline: Of course I think about you!
Adam: I wasn’t finished!
Caroline: Finish.

Anyone who knows me in real life can attest to the fact that I am a strong personality. I am loud. Even before the new-and-improved-me, and especially after, I am pretty aggressive when it comes to all of my relationships — friends, family, romantic interests, take no prisoners.

The problem with this, while it forms great bonds with some people, I think I have a strong tendency to scare others off. I don’t play games, and I don’t try to play it cool. Ever. If I want to talk to you, I’ll contact you. If I just sent you an email five minutes ago, but have something more to say, I’ll send another one.

There are other people who, when you reply to an email from them, won’t email back for days. Days or weeks mind you! I just don’t understand that — if you are busy or something once in a while, it’s understandable. I’ve played that card a time or two myself. I think we’re all busy in this life and world we live in standing in front of microwaves and yelling hurry up. Am sure my head spun around 5 times today alone. However, when emails come from my friends/family and I’m not in a meeting or driving, I respond. Some people make it a practice to play these things out like a chess match.

I just don’t operate that way.

What I’m realizing now is that my tendency to scare people off isn’t as negative as it seems. You see, in the process of all that, I weed out the bad ones. The good ones seem to stick around.

Hi.

And who can forget when Caroline says,
“My life is like watching the Three Stooges in Spanish.”

Responses

  1. I thought that I had rubbed you the wrong way with my strong personality, after my email last night was returned to sender.

  2. OOOH I like agressive girls!!!!!! **Wink**

  3. Uh, I don’t mean to burst your bubble or anything, but what if some of the ones you don’t scare off are the ones who are too stupid to be scared? I mean, er, sometimes, wouldn’t it be better to scrape some of those barnacles off the S.S. Sass?

    Oh, wait, is this a message to someone? You know, like that reverse psychology stuff? Hey, if you’re being subtle, I’ll be he didn’t get it. I haven’t met a man under 65 who’s subtle that way. Or, is that just me?

  4. N.G.
    No this is not a message to anyone. This stems from a conversation I had last night with a friend regarding making a phone call.

  5. right. but probably still involves a guy, chances are, and i agree with n.g.–men are dumb and lacking in the arts of subtlety. the good news is, we usually respond well to straightforward; women are typically the ones clamoring for the indirect.

  6. Thanks, Jess. Even though this wasn’t directed toward me, it sure is a nice response to my email.

  7. God bless you, DB, for saying it so succinctly. Yep, I’d rather take the hit with the two-by-four and know for sure what’s what than get rapped on the knuckles with a ruler over and over and over and wonder why.
    Of course, the time I got asked out by an upper-classman (upper-classwoman?) in my college Ethics class remains one of my fondest memories. At the time, I was so surprised it took me the entire class period to wake up and say “yes”. ^_^

  8. I love that movie. I cry every time I see it or even think about it. I think I would cry anyway, but that was the movie I was watching on January 2nd, 1994 when I found out that the love of my life had been killed in a car accident the night before.

    All of a sudden, the car scene at the end meant so much more. And I know why I wouldn’t want anyone to take my heart. Cause it does hurt there.

  9. Between you and Jill and Marissa, this week has been a big one for people writing posts about exactly how I feel.

  10. Remember what you said to me earlier this week…
    “Get out of my head.” Yeah, right back atcha.
    Have a wodnerful weekend.

  11. you and i may be two peas in a pod, sass. this description fits me to a t.

  12. I love the Thrree Stooges and I think they would make me laugh in Spanish too. Or was that the point? I dont know, myabe I’m just not too quick this morning. Good to hear from you. Holla!

  13. I am such a stickler for an email response from friends or family members. It doesn’t have to be long or anything, just something to acknowledge they got the email. I totally feel you on this topic.

  14. I hate people not being direct as well. Just tell me what is up… if you are not into me or whatever I would much rather just be told. No beating around the bush for me.

    Fun comments…
    Scott

  15. Unrelated to the post…but just wanted to say that I had lunch at my desk today and found you from a link at blogHouston. I clicked around a little and it seems as there are some well-adjusted folks hanging around in here! Thanks to all who got me through my brown bag lunch, y’all have some interesting sites. It inspired me to get back into blogging…with a new and improved theme.

  16. I’m with you on this one. I think it should be considered as just being part of what a friend does.

  17. and i thought i was going crazy for wondering why the hell a guy would ask for my number and then never call me..

  18. Nothing wrong with being direct!

  19. I am the same way. I hate games and I don’t handle phone calls and emails like chess. So I say keep it up!

  20. glad you know that those that don’t respond to your style aren’t the ones for you. that’s strenghth of character. hard to come by.

  21. The no replying to e-mails or phone calls for days at a time really pisses me off. HUGE pet peeve.

    I’m glad you’re such a strong person. I’m working on sticking up for myself more w/ the people I care about. It always seems harder w/ them.

  22. On that note… email me!
    ;o)


Categories

