Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | February 6, 2006

Open Letter

If you can’t hear your life, how can you enjoy it?

It must have been loud where you were. The volume of his plasma turned a decimal to high preventing K. from going to sleep at a proper bed time. You probably stood up, sat down, stood up again bellowing at the Ref.

“What kind of call was that? That’s bogus.”

He piped in with the F bomb yelling at the Ref as your voices cancelled one another out. She rolled her eyes and picked up the three year old,

“Your Grandfather is crazy honey. Let’s go upstairs.”

One woman stayed, the other followed her escape route.

After the 4th quarter you smiled hugging the other two men, in a manly fashion. A pat on the back as your home town team took the title. You grew up with them and see Terry Bradshaw as a ball player who’s real, opinionated, a man’s man. You’re not big on words when I turn to matters of the heart. I know the boundaries of our conversations. You and I text more than once a day. You’re the first I call to discuss business and ask your opinion of how I should handle a situation in the office. Your answers are what I thought you’d say and what you know you’ve taught. We don’t discuss dating, it’s something you can’t fathom. We’ve practiced this dance. The one I’ve told you we’d eventually dance to “I’m Everything I Am Because You Love Me.” Last night, you text me exactly what I needed.

“Yeah Baby!”

I responded, “Ha. Ha. You just called me Baby.”

“That’s because you are.”

I always will be Dad.

Responses

  1. You and Greek Tragedy have a lot in common. A lot. And that’s a huge compliment.

  2. *sob*

    That is beautiful!

    I miss my dad! 😦

  3. you’re very fortunate, sass.

  4. There really were some *terrible* calls in that game.

  5. Such a sweet post… did you know that Terry Bradshaw has suffered from panic disorder since his College football days? Pretty amazing for an NFL quarterback.

    Anyway hope that you have a great day.

    Scott

  6. ::dialing up the old man::

  7. Thats very nice Sass… However, being a Dallas Cowboys fan, the Steelers do not rank high on my list of favorites.. : ) Very good stuff though babe..

    C.

  8. Aw, such a sweet story!

  9. Aaaawwwwwwwwwwww.

  10. Love, love, love this post. 🙂

  11. I don’t know how else I can say “awwwww” that everyone else didn’t say, but “awwwwwww.”

  12. I hope to have that type of relationship with my daughter.

  13. I totally miss my Dad. He would have gone ape-shit crazy at the bad officiating on Sunday.

  14. I love this post! I love it.

  15. Particularly nice to read this today.

  16. That was really sweet Sass and a great sentiment.


Categories

