Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | February 21, 2006

free falling

By mornings end, I will be wishing for a minor earthquake to strike and distract today’s events. My days often consist of juggling the truly meaningful and sublimely absurd. The combination keeps me on my toes exasperated and proud of the days accomplishment.

However, if any other person in my life demonstrated the hot and cold distant manner a coworker has displayed with me, I would have cut them loose long ago. But the high standards, volatile moods and mildly abusive reprimands aren’t worth a furrow in your brow.

I have to keep telling myself that I am not being used as some sort of test case measuring patience and the ability to bite your own tongue.

I had voluntarily closed my eyes in the middle of my spiel as though I didn’t want to watch it unfold. If I only heard the words and blanked out their faces the punch wouldn’t hurt as much. I opened my eyes and saw his skin had turned a deep shade of purple and his foot was tapping the maroon carpet in rapid fire motion.

Oooh I should have kept my eyes closed.

“What the hell do you mean Grasshopper?”

That was agonizing, but necessary.

Responses

  1. Need to learn to unfocus your eyes instead. Harder for them to tell you’ve checked out. Works well with annoying sales people you can’t shake, selling things you won’t buy as well as boorish coworkers.

    Breathe in, breathe out. Repeat.
    You’ll get through it, just stick to your plan and ride it out.

  2. One thing I can’t stand in life are people who are hot and cold. I never know what to except. It drives me insane, confusing the hell out of me, never knowing what to expect. It’s a time when “needing to be on your toes” is not a good thing.

  3. I know a few people like that as well. And what grown man taps his foot? That body language is reserved for mothers when you break curfew, not coworkers.

  4. I hear you. Unfortunately my patience isn’t as good as yours when it comes to folk like that 🙂

  5. Props to you for being able to tolerate so well!

  6. I can send a plague of locusts your way, if that’ll help.

  7. Did you really type “grasshopper”? I use it all the time. Very wise of you. Most impressive.

  8. stress is the result of not strangling a bastard in desperate need of it. or so says the bumper sticker. theres wisdom in bumper stickers.

  9. Sounds like fun… actually turned purple eh? Very impressive.

    Sounds like a fun day. hope that it gets better for you.

    scott

  10. Perhaps one of us should do the dirty work for you? :0)


Categories

