Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | March 8, 2006

lack of seasoning

Sorry blogosphere. I’m out of sorts and original thoughts this week. My brain matter has been fried on a skillet and served to an army of twelve. My days are packed with sitting, standing, shaking hands, and when i finally do lay my head to rest the thoughts soar faster than Bill and Ted on an adventure.

I’ll be back to normal, ya know, whenever I get there.

Up On the Roof – James Taylor

When this old world starts a getting me down,
and people are just too much for me to face.
I’ll climb way up to the top of the stairs and all my cares just drift right into space.
On the roof, it’s peaceful as can be and there the world below don’t bother me, no, no.

So when I come home feeling tired and beat, I’ll go up where the air is fresh and sweet.
I’ll get far away from the hustling crowd and all the rat-race noise down in the street.
On the roof, that’s the only place I know, look at the city, baby.
Where you just have to wish to make it so, let’s go up on the roof.

And at night the stars, they put on a show for free.
And, darling, you can share it all with me, that’s what I said, keep on telling you
That right smack dab in the middle of town , I found a paradise that’s trouble-proof.
And if this old world starts a getting you down, there’s room enough for two
up on the roof, up on the roof, up on the roof.
Everything is all right, every thing is all right.
You got the stars above and the city lights below, let’s go up on the roof.

All my love,
Sass

Responses

  1. You’re killing me with the Bill and Ted references. πŸ™‚ Hope you’re well, girl.

  2. first time visitor and you are out of thoughts. lol.

  3. Sometimes you just need a time-out to collect thoughts and recharge the creative energies…or at least wait for someoen around you to do something really stupid and therefore worthy of becoming blog-fodder.

  4. It’s spring break anyway.
    So party on dude!

  5. Sorry you are out of sorts. Will be waiting patiently for you to be back in. So take some time and collect yourself.

  6. I wondered if you ever ran out of creativity. I honestly have no idea how you’ve done it. Enjoy your break. I’ll miss u.

  7. You know that I of all people understand. Get some rest. We’ll see you later.

  8. Sass, I hope your brain un-fries… let it relax a bit, if you can.

  9. Great song.

    (Hugs)

  10. Passing that e-sweathshirt back to you. Wrap up in it and be safe and warm.

  11. I feel you on this. Sometimes the words are a struggle.

    Could you get an email address that won’t filter me so we can talk? Pleeeeeeeease?

  12. Nice post… good to take a break and recharge.

    Scott

  13. Listening to James Taylor? You really are out of sorts. (well, your sorts anyway, I admit to liking JT)

  14. Hey there!

    I saw you on Blog in Space and then an alien sent me a message to come by and say hey so I did.

    I love your layout, gorgeous design you’ve got.

  15. Funny, my Jr. High music teacher used to call me Sweet Baby James, in reference to James Taylor. No idea why.

    I have a rather annoying personality trait that has served me well in situations like this over the years: obstinancy. I’m a fourth-generation German and we all seem to have that in common. When things get rough, we may cry and moan about it, but we all just lean into it and keep on inching forward. The progress may seem so minor as to not matter sometimes, but, well, progress is progress. So, listen to your Uncle Jim and just lean in and inch along. It won’t last forever, though, it may seem like it some days. At least, that’s what everyone tells me. πŸ˜‰

  16. Sometimes it is better to take a break and recharge. πŸ™‚

  17. hey there – hope you’re feeling up to snuff soon!


Categories

