Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | April 17, 2006

snap your fingers

Saturday afternoon i was helping Ronda move I.T.L. Ron was exhausted from carrying boxes, he collapsed on the ground rolling over in the manner a man has after a hard day of work,

Ron: I wasnt built for this.

J: Neither was I, but we make it happen.

Ronda kneeled on the floor next to him sweeping her eyes up his body and catching his gaze as she leaned in for a kiss, Thats we do Baby. We make it happen.

Preservation of the body mind and soul while you make it happen is my new mantra after this weekend.

Theres been a little bit of a storm running through town toasting to J.C.s rising. The great thing about the Ladies is they are just the right amount of girly-guy who will sit on a patio Sunday afternoon drink a beer, eat French fries and crawfish, then dawn a mini skirt and heels to tear up the dance floor. In college I had lesser friends who would pretend to be interested in a night of catching up and then morph into giggly backstabbers at the whiff of Kenneth Cole aftershave women who were lightning fast with the put down jokes or dismissive wave, whatever it took to seem more pretty or witty or larger chested to the nightly swarm of male barflies. But not The Ladies. They are loyal and genuine, not in an aggressively girl powerish way, but in a sane and appreciated one.

The next several days are going to be filled with a sense of secret purpose and focusing on my job. Im becoming mildly alarmed at how much I enjoy the idea of getting into mischief and running around town like rock stars are on a one way train to extinction. Spring fever is alive and kicking. Id always hoped Id be motivated by something purer and more positive, but I cant deny the excitement of getting into mischief if only for a weekend.

Back to Preservation

Sunday afternoon I cleared my throat. I honestly didnt really know where to begin there was so much information on the topic crammed in my brain. I decided to just dive right in and hope I didnt hit my head on the board.

All you can do is take it day by day and tread softly – who cares what anyone else thinks? I’ll always have the fun Messica side and you’ll always have the (insert party nick name here) but those girls are only allowed to come out and play every so often. Beyond that, it’s preservation and focus. You’re doing just fine as you ease into the new and improved version of you.

Spring is in the air, new leafs are turning over while the old ones are laid to rest. Relationships are ending, friendships are forming, Im starting new hobbies, signed up for classes, bonds are becoming stronger, new relations are beginning, and time is moving forward.

I might not have been built for this, but Im doing the best I can to make it happen.

Responses

  1. Trix are for kids.

  2. “Easy come, easy go.”

    Sometimes, reading your blog, I think that men are too easy for you to come by. They circle you and your friends like sharks when there’s blood in the water. Try wearing a fat suit, blacking out a couple of teeth and wearing a fake mole. Then see who hits on you. *That* guy is more likely to stay loyal to you and make your life more complete. Especially after you take off the fat suit, the fake mole and brush your teeth. 😉

  3. Or he has a really low self-esteem and thought that the fat chick was the best he could do. Guy’s with low self-esteems don’t often do well with really hot women. Or maybe he just thought a heavier woman would be more eager.

  4. im glad im not the only one looking mischeif in the eye and saying “hi, i think we will be freinds.”

  5. Excellent post as always. Spring Fever is definatley alive and well.

    Scott

  6. After Saturday night – you girls definately have spring fever – you’re a nut jess.

  7. The Ladies sound like amazing ones. You’re very lucky to have them. Next time you have a drink pretend I am there toasting to preservation.

  8. My leaves are still spinning in the air…I’m waiting to see where they’ll fall…

  9. my power is about to go out.. rolling blackou

  10. Good friends are great. The only draw back is that they ask you to help them move!

    “We make it happen”???

    Heck no. “Git ‘er done.” I can’t wait to save up enough to get the window sticker.


Categories

