Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | May 21, 2006

Sesame Place all over

Then at that moment I am turning the corner, I become convinced, in a flash of pure truth seeing – it happens every time I loose myself and leave the plans before I can make them. I ask myself, ‘Can you die of happiness, truly?’ Is it possible? Can you at least get sick or make yourself commit to a Sunday afternoon of holding down your couch after a to fun Saturday?

Saturday started out plainly. I had wanted to go for a run and Ronda wanted cheese, friendship, and a glass of wine. At 2pm we sat across from one another catching up on the details of our lives, then she took off to shoot film and me to take a nap. Six hours later I was standing high above Sarah at an outdoor theatre wondering just why we should “wrap ourselves up like fajitas and roll down a hill” The idea, I suppose, was the emotional equivalent to a drug binge. The tossing together of a much disparate and presumably incompatible stimuli was possible, in a short span of twenty minutes, together constituting a sort of socio-familial archaeological bender, ya know – to see what came of it and acting like you are nine instead of twenty-nine. How much of your youth can be brought back, remembered, exploited, excused, laughed at, made known, and brought to the surface showing it’s permanenance while you should be watching the opera at an outdoor theatre with five of your girlfriends?

EVERY WAKING MOMENT.

We laid on our backs listening to operatic voices booming through speakers while surrounding blankets “SHHHHSHD” us and we drew constellations in the sky with our fingers; like ya did camping in the back yard of Mom and Dad’s house when you really were nine.

Turns out, I’m still five years old, in a mini skirt and heels.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Later that evening after a shot or two – well – I’m still twenty-nine.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I just have to say, I love my girls. Happy Birthday Hillary and Courtney
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Responses

  1. It sounds like everytime I come out of the grocery store with the boys and a shopping cart. They always jump on, cause they know I’m going to run as fast as I can and jump on too–just to see where it takes us. Being older is fun, it allows you to act any age you want sometimes.

  2. Plus, you don’t look a day over 21.

  3. beauty of being 29, or 30. or whatever. you can be any age you want, and if someone else doesnt like it, most of the time you can afford the bail money now.

  4. by the way. friday i dreamed you and i were working at the same joint. when i saw you i practically gushed with my admiration of your words…and then i left and forgot to introduce myself.

    hi, i’m ghost. and i love your words.

  5. i would have much rather been with you saturday night acting like i was 9 because i CAN, than dealing with a 35 year old man acting like a 12 year old because he doesn’t know any different

  6. Rolling down the hill at Miller? Guaranteed fun! Love the pics.

  7. Hey, my thought is, do it while you can. I practically dislocated a shoulder taking a nap on the couch Sunday afternoon with Ms. NewGal. I cannot imagine the damage that rolling down a hill would do to me these days, not to mention the mini-skirt and heels.
    Getting old is hell.

  8. It takes some really good friends to bring out the five-year old. Sounds awesome to me!

  9. Justin – make up does wonders – trust me.

  10. Charlie that’s not very nice. If you’re going to leave a comment like that – the least you can do is buy some of my makeup for me.

  11. try rolling uphill. it is much more rewarding……

  12. Wish I was there! 🙂

  13. You’ve got some great looking friends with nice smiles but you take the cake bar none. Glad you had an awesome time.

  14. Apparently, I was at the wrong place Saturday night.

    I suppose this is the only way I will be talking to you for the next week or so. I’m in isolation mode again for no particular reason. You know how I get.

    I may be throwing a party at Touch on Thursday night. Maybe you can make an appearance since our phones are on opposite schedules now.

    I miss you. I need my sass fix.
    ~Rea

  15. Looks like lots of fun. Glad that you can still get into that head space of being a kid. I envy that a lot!!

    Cheers,

    Scott

    Oh yeah, great pictures by the way!

  16. I swear…you and your friends seem to have the coolest time together. I’m coming to hang out with you!

  17. Sounds like a fantabulous evening. And look at all those beaming smiles!

  18. I see nothing wrong with you having a 9-year-old’s heart trapped in a 29-year-old’s body.


Categories

