Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | August 24, 2006

Afternoon Furry

I understand Fluffy McTutu when she writes things like this

I have a sharp pain down my right quad – IT band massage sounds good.

And I had to laugh when another soon to be roommate said to me last night, “There’s something else you should know about me.”

I caustically set down my wine glass, zippered up my vertebrae, flexed my stomach muscles to shield myself for the blow and exhaled, “Shoot. I can take it.”

“I’m addicted to the Golden Girls.”

Scoff. “You’re kidding right? That must mean I’m Blanch.”

“No. Seriously. I have the whole box set.”

“I can see it now when I come home and someone asks where R. is, oh she’s upstairs watching the Golden Girls.”

“It won’t be the first time.”

“What if we ended up like that.”

“Eh. It wouldn’t be so bad. Look at our 20’s”

“They’ve been a blast.”

Enter sitcom theme song

Thank you for being a friend
Traveled down the road and back again
Your heart is true your a pal and a confidant.

And if you through a party
Invited everyone you ever knew
You would see the biggest gift would be from me
And the card attached would say thank you for being a friend.

Responses

  1. thanks for the new nickname. anything with a “mc” in it is a good name in my book. except when it’s fatty mcbigbutt.

    AH-HA! i know who your roommate is gonna be! the golden girls gave it away. i’ve heard stories about her and the gg’s. she loves them and can’t get enough of them.
    what’s even scarier is you two living together. it’s gonna be one big party! hehe

  2. can’t wait to play sunday…will you braid my hair too?

  3. You know, I was flipping through channels last night and saw an old episode of Star Trek. Dr. McCoy is talking some space chick about Kirk and says something like “All my old friends look like old doctors, but all his look like you.”

    I need better looking old friends. And, ex-roommates. Got any to spare?

  4. Blanch was the hot one, right?

  5. Okay, I think I got a bit jealous reading that.

  6. GOOD FOR YOU. NEW ROOMMATE…. NEW HORIZONS….. HOPE YOU HAVE GOOD SUNSETS.

  7. by the way, i thinks you are the best writer ever.. would like to sponsor your book.

  8. I saw a live taping of the Golden Girls when I was very young. Yeah, that’s right I admit it. That Blanch was sure something.

    Scott

  9. how exactly does one go about getting addicted to the golden girls?

  10. why am i hung over every monday.

  11. i can’t wait for more mayhem and debauchery next sunday

  12. Sigh. I too love “The Golden Girls”. That Rose — she’s a HOOT!!


Categories

