Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | September 14, 2006

never a question

Where have I been? Let’s take a few looks back since my last post.
I’ve decided to quit corporate America and begin my own little project.

I’ve danced with friends until dawn.

I attended the Eagles game at Texans Stadium

Planned second trip to Vegas with girls cause, I am going there for another �interview of sorts� in an industry where I will always give Ann Taylor props but, I won’t need to wear her attire during working hours.

Ran 18 miles last Saturday and later bathed in Tiger Balm

Planned and plotted evil revenge on cleaning up my bedroom idea and failed every time when I can’t find something

However, the most pivotal moment came when I left the hospital Monday evening. Ronda looked at me with pain killer induced hazy eyes and blood dripping from her mouth, �Thanks for coming.�

�Of course. I’ll be back first thing in the morning,� turning my head slightly to the right and looking at her Mom I said, �at 8:00.�

Ronda rebutted, �You don’t have to, you have a life.�

Kissing her on the top of her head I stated, �And you’re a big part of it.�

A year ago she began discussing hormonal issues, like a good friend, I ignored it assuming she was being slightly over dramatic. This past Monday morning an Ear Nose and Throat (ENT) paired with a neurosurgeon to remove a cyst that was pressing on her pituitary gland. The pituitary gland is located in the center of the brain and manages hormonal levels. Incisions were made through her mouth and nose to reach the brain. Archaic as it sounds, this angle provides better access to the brain than going through the back of the head.

She went home today, but with a friend like me, she’s a pretty amazing and tolerant gal.

Her bandages need to be changed every hour or so and, as predicted, she doesn’t like the way her sutures look. During the changing of the bandages she tells me in a tone that means business to look away.

�Jessica � look away�

Peeking my head around she caught me sneaking a glance.

�I look horrible.�

�No, you don’t look that bad.�

We laugh. The truth of the matter is, before and after brain surgery � she’s still gorgeous.

Speedy Recovery Ronda.

Responses

  1. She might ask you to “turn your back to her”, but the reality is you never will. You sound like you are too good of a friend to ever turn away.

    Hope she has a speedy recovery. Sounded like a scary surgery.

  2. Glad to have you back, and best wishes for a full recovery for your friend.

  3. poor ronda! she worked at our white party last weekend… sweet girl. hope she gets better soon. she’s lucky to have a friend like you.

  4. I don’t know her but tell her Plantation send his best. And good luck with your ‘project.’ Am anxious to hear more.

  5. i’m going to hell for missing vegas…
    tell ronda she’s in my thoughts…i had forgotten that was this week…

  6. I really hope that your friend feels better soon. YOu sound like a great friend. Very cool.

    Scott

  7. You’ve been a busy girl. And more important…a fantastic friend.

  8. My thoughts are with you and your friend…she is lucky to have someone like you to care for her.

  9. I hope Ronda gets well soon and I am sure having a friend like you will speed her recover.

  10. I think I’ve finally given up trying to think of something profound or serious enough to match this post.

    I’m glad they got the surgery done, that she made it through okay, and I pray she heals quickly, well, and completely.

  11. Good luck with your ‘interview’ and hope your friend gets better.

  12. You mean the Texans game against the Eagles at Reliant Stadium. 🙂

    Well..my team looked good for a few minutes in the 1st quarter of the season. Oh well..Can you say No.1 pick two years in a row. Brady or Adrian!


Categories

