Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | September 26, 2006

what’s in a name?

I’m in a bit of a quandary.

Having spent the last few evenings intertwined amongst pillows, blankets, and the company of most favorite gal pal and I’m hesitant to depart her comfort.  Abandonment is always untimely and bothersome even when the welcome mat was preset  In my life, there have been relationships where I’ve rolled out the red carpet in a, “Leave me alone. I can do this on my own.”.  Alas, now is not one of them.

The last several evenings Ronda’s sat feet curled under her and body hidden under mounds of blankets on the sofa.  I snuggled up close on the adjacent sofa in a similar fashion.  There’s a comfort between her and I that undeniably translates to trust and loyalty.  It’s easy to be friends of this sort.  Last night after a trip to Target (pronounced Target not Tar-jay) the routine of marathon movie and TV night began when Saddam Hussein appeared on screen.  After being ambushed by the nightly news I had the overwhelming urge to change into camouflage and paint black stripes on my face in defiance of the news bit.

Anchor: “Saddam Hussein was thrown out of the courtroom again today.”

Ronda: “Ha! For what now?”

J:          “Did he tell someone to go to hell again?  You can’t make this stuff up.”

Ronda:  “Right. Religious leaders telling people to go to hell.”

J:          “Not even SNL would do that”

R:         “Especially not SNL”

The humor in our discussion was, not caused by, but eluded to the demise of SNL over the last several years and after watching the new sitcom Studio 60.  Surely they could have thought of a better name for the show than Studio 60.  I’m trying not to be overly critical.  Trying.  I’m a bit of a stickler when it comes to names of “Operation Whateveritis” I’m constantly amazed by how the authorities in charge manage to inappropriately name military expeditions.  One of my favorites during the 90’s was “Operation Just Cause.”  Whenever I hear the project spoken of I act out scene one in my head.

“Why are we invading the country?”

“Just ‘cause”

Clearly they could have done a better naming job, I mean, “Shut Up Tyrant You Need a Muzzle” seems to work for Saddam Hussein.

Right?

I’m in a bit of a quandary.  Having spent the last few evenings intertwined amongst pillows, blankets, and the company of most favorite gal pal and I’m hesitant to depart her comfort.  Abandonment is always untimely and bothersome even when the welcome mat was preset  In my life, there have been relationships where I’ve rolled out the red carpet in a, “Leave me alone. I can do this on my own.”.  Alas, now is not one of them.

The last several evenings Ronda’s sat feet curled under her and body hidden under mounds of blankets on the sofa.  I snuggled up close on the adjacent sofa in a similar fashion.  There’s a comfort between her and I that undeniably translates to trust and loyalty.  It’s easy to be friends of this sort.  Last night after a trip to Target (pronounced Target not Tar-jay) the routine of marathon movie and TV night began when Saddam Hussein appeared on screen.  After being ambushed by the nightly news I had the overwhelming urge to change into camouflage and paint black stripes on my face in defiance of the news bit.

Anchor: “Saddam Hussein was thrown out of the courtroom again today.”

Ronda: “Ha! For what now?”

J:          “Did he tell someone to go to hell again?  You can’t make this stuff up.”

Ronda:  “Right. Religious leaders telling people to go to hell.”

J:          “Not even SNL would do that”

R:         “Especially not SNL”

The humor in our discussion was, not caused by, but eluded to the demise of SNL over the last several years and after watching the new sitcom Studio 60.  Surely they could have thought of a better name for the show than Studio 60.  I’m trying not to be overly critical.  Trying.  I’m a bit of a stickler when it comes to names of “Operation Whateveritis” I’m constantly amazed by how the authorities in charge manage to inappropriately name military expeditions.  One of my favorites during the 90’s was “Operation Just Cause.”  Whenever I hear the project spoken of I act out scene one in my head.

“Why are we invading the country?”

“Just ‘cause”

Clearly they could have done a better naming job, I mean, “Shut Up Tyrant You Need a Muzzle” seems to work for Saddam Hussein.

Right?

Responses

  1. “You can’t make this stuff up”…sounds like a perfectly good reflective comment on anyone of a number of world leaders (I can think of at least 4)and their inability to either grasp reality or the English language.

    And I figure if you a comfortable entwined on the sofa with a friend…stay there! ~grin~

  2. I think you posted the same thing twice.

  3. Its those kind of comforts that get us through the hard times. People we feel comfortable with are harder to come by the older we get I think.

  4. what was the movie?

  5. Right!

  6. Definitely right.

    Oh, and I love that your blog word verfication right now is hotstuff.

  7. Holy cow, I come back and you have changed your blog!!!! I hope you’re doing well Jess, sorry I haven’t been posting here, been so busy!!!


Categories

