Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | November 16, 2006

hokey pokey dance

He doesn’t call me Jessie that often.  When he does, something’s gone wrong and he’s unsure how to handle the situation.  It’s out of his control and unchartered territory.  A mismapped emotion.


“Dad.  Are you going.”  It wasn’t a question, that he knew.


“I don’t even know when it is.”


“The email says it’s Saturday.  In Michigan.”


“I probably should.”


I heard the buzz of background noise in a car.  A sales rep he manages chattering. I digressed diving away from emotion.


“Are you picking me up?”


“No Jessie. Mom is.”


“Okay.  See you tonight.”

I awoke elated recognizing the date. I haven’t seen my older sister in 11 months.  I chattered  knowing I would soon be wearing turtlenecks and closed toed shoes because I had to.  In Texas, we wear sweaters as an excuse.  In New Jersey, wear them or freeze.  Walking to the computer and hitting CHECK MAIL I paused, stared at the computer, called My Father, then sat in the shower feeling nothing for 20 minutes after reading the below email My Mother forwarded from a relative.

“This email is sent with the saddest news of my life. My Mother, Barbara Henry died.   I sure wasn’t prepared for this and I can hardly believe it’s true.

She passed away peacefully, naturally with my Dad by her side.  (that’s how it should be _ I interject)  Mom went to sleep and woke up in God’s arms.”


I’m headed home to run a marathon with my sister ….to benefit my niece then spend Thanksgiving with my family. ….all 17 of us will be together.  Crap. As I write this tears are ruining my makeup.


Let’s all remember what we’re truly thankful for over the holiday season.


That’s what matters

  and now i’m waiting for my friend Bobby to pick me up and take me to the airport and keep thinking I’m forgetting to pack something.  Oh, yeah.  It’s you. I’m taking you with me..in my heart.

  and now i’m waiting for my friend Bobby to pick me up and take me to the airport and keep thinking I’m forgetting to pack something.  Oh, yeah.  It’s you. I’m taking you with me..in my heart.

Responses

  1. Awwww. Jessica. I’m so sorry.

    Spend time with your family…enjoy them and know that we’re all here thinking of you.

  2. Amen…Good Luck…Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. Jessie, my best to you and your family–sorry for your loss, it sounds like she lived quite a life with a wonderful family.
    Love and Hugs,
    Tiffy

  4. To bad it’s such a sad occasion that brings you to my state.

  5. miss you…love you…i know my phone’s been “broken”…we’ll talk soon…

  6. im thank ful for sassy suspect.


Categories

