Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | January 19, 2007

mork & mindy

I think it’s sad. That’s the only way I know how to put it.

My parents were born in the very late 40’s and grew up relating to events of the late 60’s and early 70’s.  They never were a part of the KKK, Black Panthers, and certainly were not in attendance at Woodstock however, they played a part trying to be anti-corporate America on a farm in Eerie Pennsylvania (before turning…uh corporate).  At four years old my Father gave my sister and me a pony we named Sundown.  He surprised us while standing next to a compost pile.  Who owns those outside Fraggle Rock?   Mom & Dad played hippy for a brief period, much like Generation X played grunge and are now…YUPPIES.

Did you catch that? No throwing up in your own mouth

The most popular gym in Houston, the one all the professional sports athletes train at and the one where all the professionals with out children work out at does not have a daycare center. At seventy dollars a month it caters to the demographic that can and is close to our over priced town homes and much extended work.  That alone is enough justification for the cost of a membership.

Sigh. 

When did I grow up? 

Responses

  1. Oh my God. Eerie, Pennsylvania?? I dated a girl from there in school and she swore that it was such a small town that I’d never meet anyone else from there, but in the past few days, I’ve been finding a lot of Eerie, PA folks.

  2. i still play grunge. i still run down yuppies.

  3. I never became a yuppie, really, just a broke teacher who still listens to too much New Order. Tried grunge look in college but it wasn’t a good fit. Man I was a loser.

  4. I don’t know when but STOP IT!. It’s scaring me, growing up and fitting in is no fun!

  5. In my idealistic years way back when I used to think hippies were cool and yuppies were evil. Now I just think both are funny to look at. What’s even funnier is a 40 to 50ish year old man driving around in a 2-seater convertible with an earring and dressing like a 20 year old and on his way to the club.


Leave a Reply

Categories

