Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | March 4, 2007

ain’t that a kick in the head

An episode of Lost proclaimed, “the universe has a way of correcting itself.” This afternoon as I was arriving home the Ex NFL player asked if he could talk to me for a minute. I pulled into the driveway and nonchalantly parked my car.

“Dude, I leave for a week and a guy’s body is found in a trashcan up the street (the other side ofWashington) and someone is shot on our block. I don’t know if I can trust you to take care of the hood.”

In a calm manner that screams’ I’ve seen more of the real world than you ever will City Girl,’ his voice doesn’t raise a decimal.  I have to lean in only because he’s about to deliver a powerful punch. “Yeah. That’s what I wanted to talk to you about. Ya know that guy who stole your computer?”

 “He goes by Black.”

 “It was him that was shot and killed.”

I swallowed this news knowing weeks earlier I had wanted the worst for him but death was never one of them. All I could muster was, “That’s so sad.”

“I was hoping you’d see it that way.”

 “What happened?”

“He grew up with the guy who killed him. Apparently he made him look like a fool in front of a bunch of girls and shot at him six times. One got em real good and he died here.”

I’m truly troubled by this even though this guy invaded my home and stole from me. A friend of mine says, “think how many people he stole from or lives he messed up. When you live like a street thug – you die like one “

 Article From Houston Chronicle

 A man fatally wounded in a shooting in the 4200 block of Schuler early today has been identified as Israel Demetrius Scott II, 30, of 5521 Malmedy Road., Houston police spokesman Sgt. Nate McDuell said. Scott was with a group of people on Schuler at about 1 a.m. when he got into an argument with Cody L. St. Junius, 26, a member of the group, McDuell said. St. Junius got into his Chevrolet Monte Carlo, pulled up to the group and fired several shots from a 9-mm. pistol, striking Scott in the chest, McDuell said witnesses told homicide investigators. Junius then fled the scene in the car, McDuell said. Scott was taken to Ben Taub Hospital, where he was pronounced dead, McDuell said. Police were searching for St. Junius.

For some unknown sick reason I ‘ve taken it upon myself to find out the exact details of the situation. These two guys have grown up together and known one another most of all their lives. As adults, I imagine, they graduated high school and did the job they saw around them: Sell Drugs. One of the guys I see hanging around on a regular basis always says, “hi” to me as I drive by with my doors locked. In part, because I unload food I don’t want in the house on him. He’s 25 and deals pot only. We’ve talked as I’ve handed him food- he’s never had anyone talk to him about going to college….about moving above the streets. The other two guys probably grew up the same way but in harsher environments.  The culture in Houston has produced a strong hip hop scene leading to promising careers such as Mike Jones and Chingo Bling. They sing of living on the streets and drive by shootings. I admit to singing along with Tu Pac as a white suburban female and not understanding that he wasn’t fucking around. This past weekend hit a little close to home.

 Let’s break it down.

Two life long friends, one 26 the other 30 years old.

A random Tuesday night begins with a few guys hanging out enjoying the company of some ladies.

The 30 yr old with more street cred makes jokes not realizing he is humiliating younger guy with less street cred.

The two argue back and forth on their way to their cars after realizing the ladies weren’t going to happen.

Several hours later the two find themselves hanging out on the same corner. The fight continues. Younger guy in a fit of rage gets into his car, drives by and fires six shots directly at his childhood friend.

The 30 yr. old is pronounced dead shortly there after.

 Six hours later the younger guy has a family member take him downtown to turn him in and to be charged with murder.

This boy is 26 years old and won’t see the light of day outside a county jail until he’s 40.

two lives wasted….then again, did they ever really exist?

Responses

  1. That’s life when you play “the game” as I discussed this with a ‘former’ drug dealer I arrested two days ago. Part of the ‘game’ is putting up a front. Everyone has to be tough and bad ass. When someone badder comes along and shows someone else up they lose face. The only way to regain that ‘face’ is to injure or kill that person. You’re not supposed to lose the ‘game.’ Listen to some rap lyrics, they describe this mentality pretty well.

  2. That is NOT the neighborhood for you. Explain to me again why you are there?

  3. If he’s lucky. It IS Texas, where they love to kill ’em back.

  4. I hate to say it, but “live by the sword, die by the sword”.
    Sad that it happens this way, but that’s the result of our way of life in Western society. There are the “haves” and the “have nots” and life for the *real* “have nots” is nasty, brutish and short. If you attend college in this country, you’re in the top 10%, or so, of the nation. That’s just attend, not graduate.
    Sad and scary both, isn’t it?

  5. My God, girl… anytime I feel sorry for myself & my living situation I just come over here… you deserve so much more than this…

  6. are you TRYING to get me to never come back to your place?!!?? ;-)~

  7. it was a freak incident. I’m just glad i was out of town b/c i surely would have looked out my bedroom window and watched the whole thing.
    all the old lots are now being turned into town homes.

  8. i find that i have no pity for them. i come from place like this and hav managed to rise above. i hold others to the same standards.


Leave a Reply

Categories

