Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | August 2, 2008

Why I love this country continued….

 

If I were Switzerland I would remain neutral in every war as well.  Goodness forbid someone ruin all this beauty.

 

  I’m just back from a rousingly funny dinner with two pilots I met in the Executive Lounge a few days ago, I never needed to learn a lesson about pilots but I’ve sure pulled the parachute a time or two. 

 

I’ve been fighting with myself all day for reasons I will not disclose here.  Life is funny in a way that makes you sob uncontrollably two years after a major loss in your life took place.  Forget that during the time of said break down, my vantage point was Dreiländereck (overlooking Switzerland, France & Germany). The view was irrelevant to my internal battle.  I acknowledge that I have grown in the last few years and changed for the upgraded version but can’t shake the uncontrollable sob that starts at my knees, vocalizes through my mouth, causes my shoulders to shake and empties out my eyes.  The pain lies like a stop sign in the middle of the desert.

 

But I’m beyond this…in this moment right now. I’m headed down for more laughs and drinks with new friends and ran up to the room to plan my trip tomorrow so I may take off bright and early.  I’m still torn between Zurich and Germany. Just now while researching both a bit more I came across this in Wikipedia travel about the Swiss. 

 

Attitude

Every Swiss takes great pride in his/her work. Every position is a profession demanding excellence. The bartender, housekeeper, tram driver, retail clerk, street sweeper, waiter, etc. aims to be perfectly competent. This attitude is reflected in the everyday life you will experience in Basel and throughout Switzerland. Don’t mistake the Swiss penchant for privacy and calmness as indifference. They are earnest and interested, but generally reserved – except during Fasnacht.

Chivalry towards women and the elderly is common. Do not be surprised if you see the pierced mohawk punk on a tram or bus give up his/her seat to an elderly person. Offering to help mothers board their strollers into older high-floor trams is also commonplace. Drivers are also known for their gentlemanly attitude towards passengers: even though they aim to be painstakingly punctual, they will find the time to wait for a passenger running towards the bus or tram and keep the front or rear door open.

[edit] Lost and Found

If you happen to lose something, don’t despair. There is a fair chance that the person who finds the item will try to contact you personally, if it has a name or address on it. Real story: A Basel resident found a credit card on the street and took the time to visit a number of nearby office buildings and inquire about the possibility of the card owner working in that building. The rightful owner was eventually found after several inquiries. If you don’t want to wait for such a punctilious finder to find you, try the city’s Lost and Found to check if anyone has returned the item for claim:

*                   City Lost & Found: Fund- und Passbüro, St. Johanns-Vorstadt 51, telephonic inquiries: 0900 120 130 (CHF 1.19 / min).

*                   Railway Lost & Found: SBB Fundbüro, basement of the Basel SBB railway station.

In the case of the SBB Fundbüro, you may, for a fee, report a loss and provide an address to have the item sent in case it is returned.

Given the tradition of good citizenry in returning lost items, it is a point of honor to offer a “finder’s fee” of 10% of the property value.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

