Posted by: canaryinacoalmine | September 12, 2008

the only way i know how

I’m bracing, hunkered down and don’t feel like facing the world right now. Hurricane IKE is fast approaching bringing much needed rain that will pound against my window like an angry ex-boyfriend (and hopefully not steal a key like the last one).  Accompanying the rain will be it’s awesome side kick of wind. If the pattern holds to form it will begin smacking me in the face tomorrow morning on a run reminding me that A) life has thrown some incredible punches B) I’ve witnessed the human spirit at it’s worst C) I held Baby Jet last week and understood life’s beauty  D) I’m still shaken even though I try to be of sound mind and body. 

 

I have a hundred and one stories from the last six weeks crowding my brain; each with their own personality trying to etch out an existence before fleeting.  It’s like a psychiatric ward sans medication up there lately.

 

There’s one in particular I’m trying bit by bit to forget and going through mind numbing meetings to forget however, when I lay my head down to sleep visions of days gone by hurl at me like a toddler throwing a temper tantrum.

 

For now, Ike continues to approach and will undoubtedly leave lasting scars with no excuse as to a how or why…sometimes life just is.

 

I’ve learned it’s not what happens to you but how you CHOOSE to deal with it nor is it WHAT you do but HOW you do it.

 

One day soon, I’ll get to writing the article my mother wants me to for xyz and face it…but right now…I’m okay with not forcing it on myself. Right now, I’m okay with just getting through it and dealing with life in the way I do. 

Right now, I’m doing just fine.

Leave a Reply

Categories

